Running

Back on the track!

20140425-091949.jpg

{ Sedona }

It’s plain and simple fact: injuries suck. One day everything feels great and the next day, well… it doesn’t. After they happen all that can really be done is damage control. Long story short, I’ve been dealing with a knee issue for the past month and a half that has been beyond frustrating. Every time I felt like I took a step forward it would quickly be followed by a half step back. At least I was slowly moving in the right direction.

I’m a firm believer in the power of positive thinking and if there’s one thing I’ve learned from previous injuries it’s that feeling sorry for myself or getting upset won’t help my injury heal any faster, in fact it’ll probably just make the healing process take longer. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have moments where I felt frustrated and stressed. Usually I would snap out of it pretty quickly and return my focus to the things I could control, turning that frustration into motivation.  Occasionally I’d need a little help (thanks mom!).

I’ve now moved from Scottsdale to Flagstaff for a bit of altitude training and things are finally beginning to feel good again. The first week and a half I did most of my runs on the Alter-G treadmill and my second run of double days on the elliptical. Although it slightly killed me that I was stuck inside staring at a wall instead of outside running along trails, or around the track, I was honestly just happy to be able to run at all. So… finally I’m back to (almost) full training and it feels so good!  I’ve loved running since I ran my very first workout but sometimes it takes a little time off to remind me how much I really love it.

I’m headed to Palo Alto for the Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational later this week for my season opener on Sunday.  I haven’t been to Stanford since my third year at Nebraska and I’m excited to get back to the beautiful campus and fast track! 

20140427-160716.jpg{ If I have to swim at least I was able to swim here! }

20140427-174923.jpg{ …and here! }

20140425-091850.jpg

{ I was able to take a mini holiday to spend a few days with my grandma in Palm Springs – five days was not nearly enough time. }

20140425-092103.jpg{ Otis living the California dream }

20140405-102939.jpg{ Watching my former Husker teammates kill it in their season openers at Arizona State University }

20140425-092557.jpg{ Flagstaff weather: one day it’s sunny and warm… }

20140427-160631.jpg{ …and the next the ground is covered in snow. }

20140425-091002.jpg{ A little different background view than the dirt roads I’m used to running on. }

20140427-160609.jpg{ Northern Arizona University }

20140427-190011.jpg

{ Macy’s Coffee – the best }

Leave a Reply

