Running / Series / Travel

On The Run: Las Vegas, Nevada

20140109-233711.jpg

Las Vegas. Where to even begin? At first glance I loved all the neon lights, ones I had only seen in movies and pictures. Once I was actually in it though, I wasn’t so sure. I thought I was prepared for the extent to which everything is geared towards getting people to spend money. I wasn’t at all. I’m not sure if a first time Vegas visitor could ever properly prepare themselves. I had a really hard time watching so much money being so frivolously wasted. To be honest, it made me feel a little bit ill.

I did an easy run along the strip one morning and in a matter of thirty minutes I ran past a Venetian canal, two pirate ships and an active volcano, the Colloseum, Fontana di Trevi, the New York skyline and Statue of Liberty, a pyramid, castle, the Arch de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. Minus the pyramid and pirate ships I’ve been lucky enough to see the real version of those famous landmarks and maybe that’s why my favourite Las Vegas Boulevard attraction wasn’t a replica of anything. I could have sat and watched the Bellagio Fountain for hours. I heard Luck be a Lady, In the Mood, and the Star Spangled Banner.

We took a little afternoon trip and went and toured the Hoover Dam. It was incredible to hear the history behind its construction and how it presently operates. Like with any other place I go, I am always thinking of people I know who would love the sites I visit. This time I was wishing my mom could have been with me because I know how interesting she would have found it, and how much she would have loved it.

All in all I’m glad I went and experienced Las Vegas but I don’t think it’s a city I’ll be rushing back to anytime soon.

20140110-093044.jpg

Bellagio Fountain

20140110-093031.jpg

New York Skyline

20140109-233832.jpg

Part of the Cirque du Soleil-“Ka” set

20140110-104911.jpg

The Flamingo

20140109-233947.jpg

The Greenbacks at Harrah’s

20140110-104837.jpg

The Mirage

20140110-093111.jpg

Eiffel Tower at Paris Las Vegas

20140109-233800.jpg

Hoover Dam

20140109-233820.jpg

Mike O’Callaghan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge

Leave a Reply

